Home » Uncategorized » Pregnancy Update {Baby Girl #2}

Pregnancy Update {Baby Girl #2}

When I was pregnant with Olivia I documented every week, besides the early weeks.  With this pregnancy I just can’t find the time and honestly feel like I just don’t need to do it like the last.  I have tried to take weekly photos, but haven’t been too successful with that either and have resorted to just taking a photo of myself while at work which gets it done.

35 weeks baby girl Leigh 2013 12 18

35 weeks – 12/18

As of today, 12/21 we are a month away, 32 days from the estimated due date and I am 35 weeks and 4 days pregnant today.  I have a pregnancy app that is so handy to tell me exactly where I am at because there is no way I would remember from day-to-day.  Things have been pretty nuts around here lately, trying to keep up with a toddler, getting ready for Christmas, working full-time, spending time with friends and family and getting ready for this baby girl.  Life is pretty hectic and it is only going to get crazier!  I am really looking forward to getting three months off of maternity leave to spend with Leigh and Livie and that is what keeps me going. I am just excited to have more time with my kids and be able to do more things with them and for them.

34 weeks

34 weeks

30 weeks baby girl Leigh 2013 11

30 weeks

We are ready for baby girl – her room is all set, clothes are cleaned and hung, bassinet is set up in our room, baby seats and swing is out, hospital bag is packed, car seat is waiting to be installed in the closet.  It does feel really good to have all of that done and it has been so much easier getting ready the second time.  You know exactly what you need, what you like and you have most things already.  It makes it so much easier.

photo 3

photo 1

photo 5

photo 2

photo 4

As of this coming Monday I will be having my doctor appointments every week and I have already scheduled them out to the due date.  On Monday I get the strep B swab and she is going to check me too and see what has been happening.  This pregnancy is so much different from with Olivia or at least what I remember.  This baby girl is so low and has been for some time, there is so much pressure, serious groin pain, random contractions along with Braxton Hicks contractions.  It all makes me nervous that she will come early, but my doctor assured me at the last appointment that these are normal feelings to have with the second pregnancy since everything is so loose and low.  It feels like she is just going to fall out sometimes!  I will be full term on new years day so pretty excited about that and then she can feel free to come anytime after that :).  Jeff and I both have our guesses on her due date.

Baby Leigh is somewhere around 5.5 pounds and 20 or so inches long.  I can tell she is gaining because my tummy is really itchy again these days.  She is a mover and rarely is still – we think that she is going to be just like her big sister, always active and moving.  I am so excited to meet her and see if she looks like Livie or has a different look.  It could go in such a different direction from the two of us that it makes it so exciting to see.

As for me, I am just uncomfortable with this protruding belly.  Good sleep is hard to come by with the baby moving constantly, getting up twice a night to use the restroom, leg and foot cramps and every time I flip sides I wake to make sure I transfer my leg pillow too.  It is to be expected right now, but for how big and uncomfortable I feel this time, I can’t believe I have +/- 30 more days to feel like this, but I know it will go by fast.  Jeff has been so helpful these last several weeks by picking up Livie for me so I don’t have to, it take a lot out of me toting around a 30 pound toddler along with the extra weight that I am carrying right now.  He is so great and is ready to be a daddy of another girl!

2013 12 playing with baby stuff

Livie testing out the baby stuff

Livie is getting excited to be a big sis and meet her baby sister!  She comes up to my belly and says hi to the baby and will softly pat my tummy.  She seems more aware than she was a few months ago that she is coming very soon.  I know it is going to be a challenge, but I look forward to it and am not nervous. She is going to be the best big sister.

We can’t wait to meet you Leigh Stella!

2 thoughts on “Pregnancy Update {Baby Girl #2}

  1. I understand not having time with the second one. So much busier working and having another little one to take care of. Love the PBK room. You are so on top of it having it done already. I know you mentioned your pregnancies were so difference…so were mine to the point I thought Hadley was going to be a boy. Take care and rest now while you can.

Leave a Reply

